Home

Welcome to the online home of author Mary Ann Rivers. I write warm, very sexy, and emotional contemporary romance about people you’ve met. Of course, not people you’ve really met, because I’ve made them up in my head, but absolutely people you could have met. Ordinary people, who are actually extraordinary, because they are about to fall in love.

This website in a peek inside the cities of my imagination, populated by heroes and heroines finding love and community in a beautiful and imperfect world. You can also find me writing on my blog or at Wonkomance, a blog devoted to the weird in romance.

SUMMER RAIN, LOVE IN THE RAIN BOOK ONE June 9th, 2014

Mary Ann Rivers’s story in this anthology is RAINY SEASON

What happens when love gets caught in the rain? 21849648

In this romance anthology, RITA-Award winning author Molly O’Keefe shows us the power of a city thunderstorm from the top of a skyscraper, while Amy Jo Cousins soaks us in a rain in Spain. New York Times bestselling author Ruthie Knox’s heroine is devastated by a winter storm, while a summer thunderstorm grants Alexandra Haughton’s hero and heroine a second chance at love. Rain sparks self-awareness in the robot in Charlotte Stein’s story and allows Mary Ann Rivers’s heroine to fall in love with her hero and her own art. Rain causes romance between the college students in Audra North’s and Shari Slade’s stories, while romance causes rain in Cecilia Tan’s myth-inspired tale of a sacrifice to a demi-god. Nine romance novelettes, edited by Sarah Frantz.

All proceeds from the volume will be donated to the Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network (www.rainn.org), the largest anti-sexual violence organization in the United States.

LAUGH May 6th, 2014 is Book Two of The Burnside Series

Mary Ann Rivers continues her Burnside family series—perfect for readers of Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis, and Ruthie Knox—as two people try to share their hearts without losing their cool.unnamed-1
 
Dr. Sam Burnside is convinced that volunteering at an urban green-space farm in Lakefield, Ohio, is a waste of time—especially with his new health clinic about to open. He only goes to mollify his partner, suspecting she wants him to lighten up. Then Sam catches sight of Nina Paz, a woman who gives off more heat than a scorcher in July. Her easy smile and flirty, sizzling wit has him forgetting his infamous need for control.

Widowed when her husband was killed in Afghanistan, Nina has learned that life exists to take chances. As the daughter of migrant workers turned organic farmers, she’s built an exciting and successful business by valuing new opportunities and working hard to take care of her own. But when Sam pushes for a relationship that goes beyond their hotter-than-fire escapades, Nina ignores her own hard-won wisdom. She isn’t ready for a man who needs saving—even if her heart compels her to take the greatest risk of all: love.

LIVE January 21st, 2014 is Book One of The Burnside Series.

Mary Ann Rivers kicks off a new contemporary romance series—sure to please readers of Ruthie Knox,

Click To Buy

Click To Buy

Kristan Higgins, and Jill Shalvis—where love can be found unexpectedly.

If there’s an upside to unemployment, Destiny Burnside may have found it. Job searching at her local library in Lakefield, Ohio, gives her plenty of time to ogle the hottest man she has ever laid eyes on: the sexy wood-carver who’s restoring the building. But as the rejection letters pile up, Destiny finds an unexpected shoulder to cry on. With his rich Welsh accent, Hefin Thomas stirs Destiny so completely that, even though he’s leaving soon, she lets herself believe the memory of his scorching kisses will be enough.

Hefin can’t help but notice the slender, confident woman with ginger hair who returns each day, so hopeful and determined. So when the tears start to fall, his silence—penance for a failed marriage—finally cracks. Once he’s touched her, what Hefin wants is to take her back to Wales and hold her forever. But Destiny’s roots run too deep. What they both need is each other—to learn how to live and love again.

HEATING UP THE HOLIDAYS released Oct. 28th and is a Thanksgiving/Christmas/New Year’s holiday anthology with the talented Lisa Renee Jones and Serena Bell. My story is SNOWFALL.

Heating Holiday2REV

Click Cover to Buy

 

 
SNOWFALL by Mary Ann Rivers

Jenny Wright can’t get enough of her erotic conversations with someone she knows only as “C.” Flirting online helps Jenny temporarily escape confronting the changes to her life as she slowly loses her vision. Jenny’s occupational therapist, Evan Carlisle-Ford, is helping her prepare for the challenges ahead, but the forthright, trustworthy man can no longer ignore his growing attraction to his fiercely intelligent client. Now Jenny must choose between the safe, anonymous “C”—or the flesh-and-blood Evan, whose heated kisses can melt snow faster than it can fall.
 

What a few lovely and amazing people have said about my debut THE STORY GUY:

81eDswT3klL-1._SL1500_

“In just over 100 pages, debut author Mary Ann Rivers gives us a powerful love story.” — USA Today

“I just finished it and as I’m sitting here jotting down thoughts for the A review, I’m crying and smiling.” — Dear Author

“If you too have been wanting more unbaggaged heroines, then Carrie . . . is the woman you’ve been waiting for.” — Heroes and Heartbreakers

“For all the seriousness this book is so damn sexy. There is kissing on a bench and phone sex and real sex. It’s really hot. And parts made me giggle too.” — Smexy Books

“There was great character development and it was a lovely story to read. This was Mary Ann Rivers’ debut novel and I can’t wait to see what else she writes next.” — The Book Vixen

“A sparkling gem of sweet emotion!” — New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips

“A beautiful love story full of sly wit, slow kisses, and heart-punching truths. I can’t recommend Mary Ann Rivers highly enough.” — Ruthie Knox, USA Today bestselling author of Along Came Trouble

“In The Story Guy, Mary Ann Rivers writes a compelling story about finding love in the unlikeliest places. I was hooked from the first page.” — Elise Sax, author of An Affair to Dismember

“The plot of The Story Guy allows—demands—a slow physical build-up with delicious anticipation, making it an incredibly sexy read. The love scenes are fresh and exciting and intensely emotional. This was an intensely emotional read all around, for me. It probably won’t make every reader burst into tears, but it has a lot to offer anyone. 5 stars.” — Karen Knows Best

THE STORY GUY is available now from Random House Loveswept: